

601 E Street, NW | Washington, DC 20049 202-434-2277 | 1-888-OUR-AARP | 1-888-687-2277 | TTY: 1-877-434-7598 www.aarp.org | twitter: @aarp | facebook.com/aarp | youtube.com/aarp

June 21, 2018

The Honorable Kevin Brady
Chairman
House Committee on Ways and Means
1100 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Richard Neal Ranking Member House Committee on Ways and Means 1100 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Brady and Ranking Member Neal:

On behalf of AARP's 38 million members, we are writing in support of the H.R. 6084, the Improving Social Security's Service to Victims of Identity Theft Act of 2018. The bill directs the Social Security Administration (SSA) to provide a single point of contact and a team of SSA staff to help redress any problems faced by Social Security ID theft victims. AARP is strongly committed to protecting consumers from identity theft and supports your efforts to improve the assistance offered to individuals whose Social Security number has been compromised.

An individual's Social Security number is critical financial information and integral to everyone's personal identity. The range of fraud that can be committed when an individual's Social Security number has been compromised is truly staggering, and the time and effort required to reassert one's financial identity can be daunting. Streamlining and simplifying the assistance that the SSA offers an identity theft victim will be welcomed by individuals who are caught in an often overwhelming situation.

We look forward to continuing to work with you to promote the integrity of the Social Security program, and to protect the identities of American workers and their families. If you have any questions, please feel free to call me, or have your staff contact Michele Varnhagen on our Government Affairs staff at 202-434-3829.

Sincerely,

Joyce A. Rogers Senior Vice President

u A. Magus

Government Affairs

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | District of Columbia | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Puerto Rico Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virgin Islands | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming